Skip to content

Congratulations to the 7th Annual Top 25 Women of Houston Honorees!

The 7th Annual Female Success Factor Top 25 Women of Houston Awards Presented By Comerica Bank

Join us at the Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 5, 2012 at The Houstonian Hotel

HOUSTON (September 24, 2012): The Steed Society is pleased to announce the 7th Annual Top 25 Women of Houston Awards presented by Comerica Bank. Tenacity, discipline and diligence are just a few of the criteria for making the list. This year’s awardees have broken barriers in their respective fields and left an indelible mark on the face of Houston.

“Comerica Bank is proud to present the Steed Society’s 2012 Top 25 Women of Houston Awards, which honor the superlative work of some of our most influential corporate and community leaders,” said Irvin Ashford, Jr., Comerica’s Senior Vice President and Director of Community Development and External Affairs. “We congratulate this year’s honorees, who have demonstrated core values of hard work and integrity, and have helped improve the Houston community through their tireless efforts.”

Friends, family and colleagues will laud the accomplishments of these outstanding leaders during an awards dinner at The Houstonian, located at 111 North Post Oak Lane, on Friday, October 5, 2012 at 7:00 p.m.

The Top 25 awards also honor The Steed Society’s Junior Youth Initiative Mentoring Program; in which twenty-five Jack Yates High School junior and senior girls attended workshop sessions on leadership, etiquette, financial literacy and college planning lead by past Top 25 honorees.

Additional sponsors of the 7th Annual Top 25 Women of Houston Awards presented by Comerica Bank are the Texas Women’s Empowerment Foundation, Lane Staffing, Amerigroup and McDonald’s. Media partners are rolling out, D Mars Business Journal

For more information on sponsorship, media access, interviews or tickets ($200), please contact Kimberly Floyd at (713) 645-1350 or e-mail [email protected].

The 2012 Top 25 Women of Houston Honorees are as follows:
Nory Angel, M.B.A., CEO and Executive Director, SER-Jobs for Progress, Inc.
Rebecca Briscoe, National Entertainment Reporter, Houston Style Magazine
Heather Moman Brown, D.D.S., Owner and Orthodontist, Dr. Heather Brown Orthodontics
Tawana Walter-Cadien, eM.P.A., R.N., B.S.N., Candidate for United States Congress, District 10 of Texas
Tammie Lang Campbell, Founder and Executive director, Honey Brown Hope Foundation
Alice Chen, Financial Advisor and Functional Manager, MetLife Financial; Community Liaison for Congressman Al Green (9th District of Texas)
Tamyra Y. Comeaux, M.D., N.M.D., Owner, Natural Women’s Care and Vita-Doc
Beverly Denver, Editor and Publisher, Houston Woman Magazine
Dr. Michelle L. Edwards, N.P.,Founder and Managing Director, PICC Health Institute
Hashmat Effendi, Founder and Executive Director, House of Charity
Mena Freeman, Agent, New York Life & Financial Services Professional
Gayla Gardner, Co-Founder, Twelve Days of Christmas, Inc.
Priscilla T. Graham, Community Executive Director, Houston Texans YMCA of Greater Houston
Charleta Guillory, M.D., F.A.A.P., Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine and Director of Level II Nurseries, Director of the Neonatal-Perinatal Public Health Program, Texas Children’s Hospital
Gloria D. Holloway, Owner & Operator, K.N.G. Enterprises, Inc. dba as McDonald’s
Stacy Johnson, CEO, Artistic Director & Executive Producer, Visual Arts Production
Martha Kennerson, VP Marketing, Amerigroup and Author of “Choices”
Shelena C. Lalji, M.D., F.A.C.O.G., Author, Speaker and Women’s Health Advocate; Founder and Medical Director, Dr. Shel Wellness and Medical Spa
Annella G. Metoyer, Houston Market President, Capital One
Vicky Bich Ngoc Nguyen, Chief Executive Officer, Vietnamese American Network Television VANTV Houston Ch.55.2
Sonya Myles Sloan, M.D., Orthopedic Surgeon; Founder and Executive Director, ME & WE Inc.
Dr. Ka-Ron Y. Wade, B.S., B.S.N., D.D.S., Cosmetic and Neuromuscular Dentist, Cosmetic Dental Texas-Dr. Ka-Ron Y. Wade
Darian Ward Nichols,Public Information Officer, Houston Airports
Kimberly Jones Williams, J.D., Chief Administration Officer, Capital Programs, Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County
Phyllis Williams, Owner, Birdiewear

Spirit of Business Award Winner
Lydia Evans, L.M.E., Founder and Product Designer, La Bella Dolce Body Care

About The Steed Society, Inc.:

The Steed Society, Inc. is a 501c3 organization with a mission to empower the community through motivational, educational and cultural initiatives.  The organization works to empower women and youth through various programs, including the Female Success Factor Business Seminars, The Top 25 Women of Houston, Seeding Minds Children’s Literacy Program and the Junior Youth Initiative Mentoring Program, that focus on education, leadership and mentoring.

Past Honorees Include:

2011 Honorees: A. Renee’ Logans, Amanda Timm, Andrea D. Arceneaux, Arvia Few, Catherine Flowers, Deanna Prothro, Debbie Ludwig, Dell Trahan, Donette Walker, Hazel K. Smith, Jackie Adams, Jene’Guess-Cash, Katy Caldwell, Linda Toyota, Lucy Bremond, Dr. Margaret Ford Fisher, Mary Benton, Minerva Perez, Dr. Monica G. Williams, Nnete, Dr. Sabrina Marie Echols, Dr. Sharita E. Warfield, Sylvia Bolling, Tarsha M. Gary, Yvette Goree-Harris and Crystal Washington

2010 Honorees: Dr. Alison Scott Cuillier, Anhlan Nguyen, Brandi Brown, Brook Borovsky, Caleen Allen, Camille G. Cash, M.D., Charlotte Stallings, Deborah Duncan, Joi Beasley, Karen Carter Richards, Kathy Taylor, Kim Davis, Margaret Allen, D.D.S, Mary Prince, Mary Redmond, Marylyn R. Harris, Nancy R. Calles, Roslyn Y. Bazzelle, Esq., Stacie Gaynor, Tracey Ferguson, Valencia G. Bell, Wilka V. Toppins, Esq., Yolanda Green, Dr. Yolanda E. Smith, Zawadi Bryant and Susan Repka

2009 Honorees: Deidre Boone, Carol Mims Galloway, Judy Foston, Dr. Leticia Plummer, Judge Hilary Green, Margo Williams Handy, Reshonda Tate Billingsley, Lora L. Mayes, Wanda Adams, Denise Bentham, Donna Mittendorf, Helen Stagg, Merele Yarborough, Roslyn Shorter, Debra Johnson, Barbara Joseph, Dr. Reagan Flowers, Irma Diaz Gonzales, Sharwin Wiltz Boney, Sheretta West, Thomasine Johnson, Jacqueline Hoyer, Nina Wilson Jones, Phyllis J. Bailey, Damali Keith and Kim Roxie.

2008 Honorees: Laurie Vignaud, Melanie Lawson, Alexandria Rawls, Jacqueline Kinloch, Kelly Hodges, Lisa Williams, Michelle Barnes, Ruama Camp, Algenita Scott Davis, Tabatha A. Bellard, Toni Whitaker, Valerie Cassel-Oliver, Sharon Owens, Jolanda Jones, Vanessa D. Gilmore, Jacqueline Baly-Chaumette, Janette Cosley, Audrey Marie Cosby, Marilyn Gambrell, Carla Lane, Cheryl Creuzot, Darlene Coachman, Dorris Ellis, Dr. Laura Murillo, Dr. Laureen Wishom and Jacquetta Smith.

2007 Honorees: Yolanda Adams, Dr. Alvia Wardlaw, Vanessa Reed, Argentina James, Tracye McDaniel, Winell Herron, LaKeeta Garfield, Sarah Joseph, Rhonda Radford-Adams, Christina Cabral, Rhonda Nwosu, Dr. Bridget Hilliard, Dena Gray, Monica Lamb-Powell, Karen Eubanks Jackson, Carmen Watkins, Jacqueline Pope, Courtney Johnson Rose, Pastor Juanita Rasmus, Regina Woolfolk, Dominique Sachse, Joyce Tyler Williams, Paula Harris, Constable May Walker and Minister Mia Wright.

2006 Honorees: Kandi Eastman, Angelique Bartholomew, Valerie Boles, Sylvia Brooks, Marjorie Buford, Carla Collins, Shauna Clark, Gina Gaston, Ramona Crayton, Deavra Daughtry, Bridgett Edwards, Ada Edwards, Diedra Fontaine, Cong. Sheila Jackson-Lee, Kesa Guest, Nicole Hill, Dr. Wendy Johnson, Marilyn Logan, Stephanie Oliver-Green, Sharon Phillips, Leticia Sanchez, Dr. Jonita Wallace-Reynolds, Kathy West, Lisa Whitlock, Judge Clarease Yates and JoAnn Goodie.