Hollywood celebrates strides in black film at the 2014 AAFCA Awards

2014 AAFCA AWARDS - Robert Townsend, Zola Mashariki and Shonda Rhimes

On February 3, The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) held its annual awards ceremony, honoring award-winning African Americans in the black film industry. The 2014 AAFCA Awards hosted by “Sleepy Hollows” actor Orlando Jones and actress Salli Richardson-Whitfield highlighted the many strides made in black film, with a wide arrange of award recipients in twelve traditional categories.

Recipients of the night included Boone Isaacs, Barclay and Bob, Harvey Weinstein and journalist Justin Chang who received the AAFCA’s inaugural Roger Ebert Award. Other notable moments of the night included a powerful acceptance speech by Ryan Coogler, director of Fruitvale Station, who was joined by the film’s producers, Forest Whitaker and Nina Yang Bongiovi.

“I couldn’t be more thrilled with the outcome of this year’s show,” says Gil Robertson, AAFCA president and co-founder. “Our goal with this event is to provide our guests with an opportunity to mix, mingle and celebrate the tremendous gifts that the film industry gives to the world.”

Hit the flip for photos of the awards gala below. – ruthie hawkins/@ruubabie

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Join our Newsletter

Sign up for Rolling Out news straight to your inbox.

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

What's new

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter

Get notified about new articles