Prince announces 2 new albums, dropping in September

princeEven in his mid-50s, Prince is still one of the most prolific artists in popular music. The legendary singer-songwriter has announced that he plans to release two albums on Sept. 29, a 3rd Eye Girl release and a separate full-length Prince project. Prince has quietly been building buzz for 3rd Eye Girl’s album with some performances, a press conference earlier this year and various tweets from the 3rd Eye Girl Twitter account.

Following the VMAs this past Sunday night, Prince announced that he will be releasing Plectrum Spectrum, the debut album from 3rd Eye Girl; as well as a second album under his own name, called Art Official Age. AOA is a 13-song album that includes the previously-released “Breakdown,” and is available for pre-order now.

The projects are Prince’s first since he announced his return to Warner Bros., the label with whom he famously feuded in the mid-1990s.

There is also an expected a deluxe, digitally remastered, 30th anniversary re-release of the Purple Rain soundtrack, though there has been no announcement of a release date.

The tracklistings for the new albums were also released online.

Art Official Age track list:

1. “Art Official Cage”
2. “Clouds”
3. “Breakdown”
4. “The Gold Standard”
5. “U Know”
6. “Breakfast Can Wait”
7. “This Could Be Us”
8. “What It Feels Like”
9. “Affirmation I & II”
10. “Way Back Home”
11. “Funknroll”
12. “Time”
13. “Affirmation III”

Plectrumelectrum track list:

1. “Wow”
2. “Pretzelbodylogic”
3. “Aintturninround”
4. “Plectrumelectrum”
5. “Whitecaps”
6. “Fixurlifeup”
7. “Boytrouble”
8. “Stopthistrain”
9. “Anotherlove”
10. “Tictactoe”
11. “Marz”
12. “Funknroll”

Stereo Williams
Stereo Williams

Todd "Stereo" Williams, entertainment writer based in New York City. He co-founded Thirty 2 Oh 1 Productions, an indie film company.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Join Our Newsletter

Get the latest news from Rolling Out.