Skip to content

Grammy-winning jazz pianist Robert Glasper set to release new album, 'Covered'

robert glasper

It’s been a whirlwind last couple of years for jazz pianist Robert Glasper.

Having taken home Grammys for his last two albums, the R&B and hip-hop soul flavored, Black Radio and Black Radio 2, respectively, Glasper is looking to go in another direction with his next LP, Covered.

The Houston native recently realigned his acoustic trio featuring bassist Vicente Archer and drummer Damion Reid to play a string of shows at New York’s Village Vanguard to give fans a preview of the upcoming album.

The trio, which hasn’t worked together since Glasper’s 2007 project, In My Element, got together to record Covered at Hollywood’s Capitol Studios this past December. Glasper co-wrote three of the album’s 12 tracks, with the nine remaining tracks consisting of jazz remakes of songs by artists such as Joni Mitchell, Kendrick Lamar, and Radiohead among others.

Covered is scheduled to be released on June 16. Check out the tracklist below.

1. “Introduction”
2. “I Don’t Even Care” (Robert Glasper/Macy Gray/Jean Grae)
3.  “Reckoner” (Radiohead)
4. “Barangrill” (Joni Mitchell)
5. “In Case You Forgot” (Robert Glasper)
6.  “So Beautiful” (Musiq Soulchild)
7.  “The Worst” (Jhené Aiko)
8.  “Good Morning” (John Legend)
9.  “Stella By Starlight” (Victor Young)
10.  “Levels” (Bilal)
11. “Got Over” feat. Harry Belafonte (Robert Glasper/Harry Belafonte)
12. “I’m Dying of Thirst” (Kendrick Lamar)