Omar Tyree, Nicci Gilbert, Cynthia Bailey at 8th annual AAMBC Literary Awards

[jwplatform R0nq0rFu]
Celebrity authors, literary enthusiasts and book-lovers converged this weekend for the 8th annual Literary Awards Show produced by Tamika Newhouse, founder of AAMBC, and it was hosted by Cynthia Bailey. The star-studded awards show was held Saturday evening at the Robert Ferst Center for the Arts. The AAMBC Literary Awards serves as the only nationally recognized event that identifies and honors writers, artists, editors and publishers who define excellence in literature. VIP guests, nominees and honorees participated in an exclusive VIP reception and intimate meet and greet with celebrity writers prior to the awards show. Guests were treated to live entertainment, spoken word and musical performances throughout the evening. Special guests and presenters included this writer, Yvette Caslin, editor-in-chief of rolling out; Nicci Gilbert of TV One’s “R&B Divas”; and Egypt Sherrod of HGTV’s “Property Virgins.”

Special Honorees:
Mary Monroe
Mary B. Morrison
Carol Mackey
Omar Tyree

AAMBC Literary Award Winners:
Reader’s Choice Winner – Mz Lady P
Urban Book of The Year – Crush by Ivy Symone
Screenwriter of the Year – Ryan Coogler
Reviewer of the Year – Orsayor Simmons
Non Fiction Book of Year – Unbreak My Heart by Toni Braxton
Editor of the Year- Charreah K. Jackson of Essence
Blogger of the Year – Marie Leggette, Curvy Fashionista
Romance Author of the Year – Cheris Hodges
Male Author of Year – Eric Jerome Dickey
Female Author of the Year – Joy Deja King
Street Lit Writer – K’wan
Literary Activist – Papaya Wagstaff-Speight
Publisher of the Year – Dafina
Indie Publisher of the Year – Brown Girls Publishing
Ebook of the Year – Crush by Ivy Symone
Book Club of the Year- (Don’t Read Me, Read A Book)
Independent Digital Publisher – Shan Presents
Breakout Author of the Year – Kellz Kimberly

AAMBC, which stands for African Americans on the Move Book Club was created in February 2008 by Tamika Newhouse. What started as an online book club grew into a national phenomenon. The sole purpose was to expose the unknown writer and to give them the opportunity to win accolades. A tradition still highly expressed to this very date, AAMBC still caters to the unknown writer. They have single-handedly worked with well over 600 writers, from new to seasoned. From first-time writers to those who are nationally known, they have consistently set the tone to support and promote Black writers.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Join our Newsletter

Sign up for Rolling Out news straight to your inbox.

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

What's new

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter

Get notified about new articles