Tupac will be inducted into Rock and Roll Hall of Fame


The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame revealed its class of 2017. Each year the foundation’s nominating committee sends ballots out to than 900 historians, journalists music critics and artists, and previous Rock Hall inductees. The five performers who garnered the highest percentages of the votes become the induction class for that year. In 2012, fans were also extended the opportunity to cast their votes for the nominees they felt are deemed worthy of being drafted into Rock Hall. The top five selected from the public ballots are counted as one vote and carries the same weight in the final collection.

The 2017 inductees are Nile Rodgers, recognized with the Award for Musical Excellence and out of the Performer Category, six artists were chosen including Joan Baez, Electric Light Orchestra, Journey, Pearl Jam, Yes, Nile and Tupac Shakur.

Twenty years after his death, Tupac Shakur is still making music history. He is the first solo rapper to be receive this award. Hip-hop groups like Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, Run-D.M.C., Beastie Boys, Public Enemy, and N.W.A have also been inducted. Many feel Shakur should have been on this list ages ago. All we can say is that it’s about time.

The 32nd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is slated for Friday, April 7, 2017 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. The ceremony is set premiere on HBO broadcast on SiriusXM radio. It has not been stated yet who will accept the honor on his behalf.

Congrats to the 2017 class.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Join our Newsletter

Sign up for Rolling Out news straight to your inbox.

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

What's new

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter

Get notified about new articles