Skip to content

Future revisits early beginnings on self-titled album


Photo Credit: RollingOut

Future is hip-hop‘s current rockstar. Over the past two years, we’ve seen this Atlanta native’s career catapult by way of radio singles (“F*** Up Some Commas”, “March Madness”, “Wicked,” etc.), great projects (2015’s DS2, and 2016’s EVOL) and also stellar mix-tapes (Beast Mode, 56 Nights, What A Time To Be Alive, etc). To the excitement of fans, Future has returned with a self-titled album, FUTURE. Future decided to tear a page out of J. Cole’s book by having no features on his seventh studio album.

Notable tracks on FUTURE include “Zoom”, “Draco”, “Super Trapper”, “Outta Time”, “Might As Well,” and “When I Was Broke.” After a year away from social media, FUTURE is revisiting his Pluto days on this project with each track. Sex, drugs, and flashy living are discussed throughout the album, but Future always delivers the message in a distinct way. Future recently spoke to Zane Lowe about the impact that shutting down his social media had on his personal life and music.

“Everything started coming together when I shut down the social media,” he said. “I wanna give all my attention to my music, my family, and my kids … It was probably the best thing that I ever done.”

Production credits on the album include Zaytoven, DJ Khaled, TM88, !llmind, and Sonny Digital. Future also announced the Nobody Safe Tour in which he will be performing alongside Migos, Tory Lanez, and Kodak Black. The tour kicks off in May at the FedEx Forum in Memphis.

FUTURE is now available on all stream platforms and services.