The unexpected artist 2 Chainz featured on his new album

The unexpected artist 2 Chainz featured on his new album
2 Chainz performing at ONE Musicfest on Saturday, Sept. 9, 2018. (Photo credit: Norman Johnson for Steed Media)

Rapper 2 Chainz‘s released his new album Rap or Go to the League Friday, March 1, 2019.

It’s the 41-year-old hip-hop legend’s fifth album and the first project since 2017’s Pretty Girls Like Trap Music.

The star-studded record finds Chance the Rapper and Kodak Black dropping verses on “I’m Not Crazy, Life Is,” Kendrick Lamar on “Momma I Hit A Lick” and Travis Scott on “Whip.” Lil Wayne, Young Thug, and Ty Dolla $ign also make appearances.

But, in an unexpected move, 2 Chainz also decided to feature an artist he previously had beef with — pop singer Ariana Grande — on the R&B-tinged track “Rule The World.”

Grande recently dropped a version of her hit song “7 Rings” featuring the rapper, after it was pointed out that she used the line “gee thanks, just bought it,” which is similar to his song “Spend It.”

Meanwhile, Grande was recently forced to apologize for the offense caused with the lyric on “7 Rings.”

The “Dangerous Woman” hitmaker insisted she never intended to offend anyone with her lyrics to the hit record.

Following the release of the single, one of Grande’s fans sarcastically wrote on Instagram Stories: “White women talking about their weaves is how we’re gonna solve racism.”

Grande shared the post with her followers, saying she had “so much love” for the fan responsible for the message. Although Grande subsequently decided to delete her post, the message was captured by The Shade Room, prompting a backlash against the singer.

Grande issued an apology, saying it was “never my attention to offend anybody.”

Parts of the song were also compared to Soulja Boy‘s “Pretty Boy Swag” and Princess Nokia’s “Mine,” with the latter hitting out at the “Imagine” singer for the likeness in a since-delated video on social media.

Check out the full track listing for 2 Chainz’s Rap or Go to the League below:

1. “Forgiven” ft. Marsha Ambrosius’
2. “Threat 2 Society.”
3. “Money In The Way”
4. “Statute Of Limitations”
5. “High Top Versace” ft. Young Thug
6. “Whip” ft. Travis Scott
7. “NCA”
8. “Momma I Hit A Lick” ft. Kendrick Lamar
9. “Rule The World” ft. Ariana Grande
10. “Girl’s Best Friend” ft. Ty Dolla $ign
11. “2 Dollar Bill” ft. Lil Wayne & E40
12. “I Said Me”
13. “I’m Not Crazy, Life Is” ft. Chance The Rapper
14. “Sam”

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Join our Newsletter

Sign up for Rolling Out news straight to your inbox.

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter

Get notified about new articles