D’Angelo releases highly anticipated third album, ‘Black Messiah’ to digital outlets


Finally the wait is over for D’Angelo fans.

After releasing new single, “Sugah Daddy” the night before, and playing the album in it’s entirety at a NYC listening session on Sunday (Dec. 14), D’Angelo has released his long awaited third studio album entitled Black Messiah.

The 12 track LP is currently available digitally with physical copies expected to hit stores on Tuesday December 16th.

At the special listening session attendees were given a lyric booklet with the album’s tracklisting and clued in on the origins of the album’s title by D’Angelo:

Black Messiah is a hell of a name for an album. Many will think it’s about religion. Some will jump to the conclusion that I’m calling myself a Black Messiah. For me, the title is about all of us. It’s about the world. It’s about an idea we can all aspire to. We Should all aspire to be a Black Messiah. Its about people rising up in Ferguson and in Egypt and in Occupy Wall Street and in every place where a community has had enough and decides to make change happen. It’s not about praising one charismatic leader but celebrating thousands of them. Not every song on this album is politically charged (though many are), but calling this album Black Messiah creates a landscape where these songs can live to the fullest. Black Messiah is not one man. It’s a feeling that, collectively, we are all that leader.

Check out the full track list for Black Messiah below.
1. Ain’t That Easy
2. 1000 Deaths
3. The Charade
4. Sugah Daddy
5. Really Love
6. Back in the Future (Part I)
7. Till It’s Done (Tutu)
8. Prayer
9. Betray My Heart
10. The Door
11. Back in the Future (Part II)
12. Another Life

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

What's new

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x