‘Black Was the Ink’ by Michelle Coles

Author, Michelle Coles pens first young adult novel that takes the reader on a journey history after slavery. Through the help of a ghostly ancestor, sixteen-year-old Malcolm is sent on a journey through Reconstruction-era America to find his place in modern-day Black progress. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Nic Stone, and featuring illustrations […]

Book of the Month: ‘Black Was the Ink’ by Michelle Coles

Malcolm Williams hasn’t been okay for a while. He’s angry and despondent and feels like nothing good ever happens for teens like him in D.C. All he wants is to be left alone in his room for the summer to draw or play video games–but no such luck. With growing violence in his neighborhood, his […]