African American Film Critics Association celebrates 5th annual dinner

Cheryl Boone Isaacs

AAFCA to honor Cheryl Boone Isaacs, the first black president of Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has announced their dates for their annual dinner ceremony honoring the top Entertainment Industry players both in front of the camera and behind the scenes. The official date for the ceremony has been set for Friday, January 31, 2014 and will take place in Hollywood, Calif. at the Taglyn Complex. This year AAFCA is celebrating their fifth year holding this prestigious event and has already chosen six film industry veterans who have pushed the film industry to the highest standards of diversity as their Special Achievement Honorees. “Much is being said about 2013 being a spectacular year in terms of the diversity of cinema released this year, but attention needs to be also given to equal strides made in terms of the industry populating its executive ranks with very talented individuals who represents all shades of America,” says Gil Robertson IV, AAFCA president and founder. “The members of AAFCA are extremely humbled and honored to celebrate each of these Executives.” The actual Film Award honorees (including Best Actor/Actress and Best Director/Film) will be announced on Friday, December 12, 2013.

For 2014, AAFCA has designated their 2014 Special Achievement Awards to go to:

The Weinstein Company (TWC) founders Bob and Harvey Weinstein [Cinema Vanguard Award]
Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences (AMPAS) President Cheryl Boone Isaacs [Horizon Award]
Director’s Guild Association (DGA) president Paris Barclay [Legacy Award]
Fox Searchlight’s senior vice president of Production Zola Mashariki [Ashley Boone Award] &
Variety’s senior film critic, Justin Chang [AAFCA’s inaugural Roger Ebert Award]

Established in 2003, the African American Film Critics Association is the premiere organization representing film journalists of African descent in the world. In addition to providing support to the next generation of African American film journalists and filmmakers, the organization also recognizes the best films each year in 11 categories of excellence with the AAFCA Awards. Since 2009, the organization has produced the AAFCA Awards Ceremony – “a special night in cinema,” that attracts A-list talent and executives throughout the entertainment industry.

“This year our Special Achievement Awards will celebrate the careers of individuals who have demonstrated a consistent commitment to diversity and also have delivered the highest level of professional standards throughout their careers,” adds Robertson. “Our 2014 honorees are all champions whose vision and hard work have produced results that everyone can admire.”

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Join our Newsletter

Sign up for Rolling Out news straight to your inbox.

Read more about:
Also read
Watch this video
What's new
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x