Morgan Freeman to receive major honor

Morgan Freeman to receive major honor
Photo credit: @morgan_freeman_official/Instagram

Morgan Freeman receives a once in a lifetime honor.

In case you missed it, the 80-year-old has been named the 54th recipient of the SAG Life Achievement Award, recognizing his career achievements in addition to his humanitarian efforts.

According to multiple outlets, the award, given annually, celebrates an actor who fosters the “finest ideals of the acting profession.”

“I am thrilled to announce Morgan Freeman as this year’s recipient of the SAG Life Achievement Award,” SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris said in a statement on Tuesday. “Some actors spend their entire careers waiting for the perfect role. Morgan showed us that true perfection is what a performer brings to the part. He is innovative, fearless and completely unbound by expectations. As a chauffeur, convicted murderer, boxing gym attendant, pimp or president, Morgan fully realized every character, baring their souls and showcasing their humanity.”

Carteris added, “It has been a privilege to see his genius at work.”

And it’s all going down at the 2018 SAG Awards, which will be simulcast on TBS and TBT on Jan. 21, 2018.

In 2005, the actor nabbed the Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role, as well as the Academy Award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role for Million Dollar Baby.

Meanwhile, in 2014, he presented Rita Moreno with the Life Achievement Award during the 20th Annual SAG Awards.

With nearly 100 film credits to his name, the actor’s notable mentions include Street Smart (1987), Driving Miss Daisy (1989), Glory (1989), Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (1991), The Shawshank Redemption (1994), Seven (1995), Amistad (1997) Deep Impact (1998), Along Came a Spider (2001), The Sum of All Fears (2002), Bruce Almighty (2003), Batman Begins (2005), The Bucket List (2007), Wanted (2008), The Dark Knight (2008), Invictus (2009), RED (2010), The Dark Knight Rises (2012), Now You See Me (2013), Olympus Has Fallen (2013), Last Vegas (2013), The Lego Movie (2014), Lucy (2014), Now You See Me 2 (2016), Momentum (2015) and Going in Style (2017).

Not to mention, his long list of achievements, including five Academy Award nominations, five Golden Globe Award nominations, and two Golden Globe Awards for Best Actor (musical or comedy) for the 1989 film Driving Miss Daisy, among others.

Up next, Freeman is slated to star in The Nutcracker and the Four Realms, a magical reboot which follows a young girl who is transported into a wonderful world of gingerbread soldiers, an army of mice and Villa Capri.

Congrats to Freeman on his latest accolade. Show him some love in the comment section below.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

What's new

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x