Skip to content

The 18 states Obama won: Some wins surprised political experts

Tell the truth: even those who supported the Democratic ticket were surprised that incumbent President Barack Obama won some of the states that he did.

But it blew many people’s minds that Obama won both Michigan and Massachussetts, which are Mitt Romney’s birthplace and the state where he was governor — and he lost Massachussetts by record margins for a politician who served in a state. Obama also won Wisconsin, which means that both Romney and VP candidate Paul Ryan lost their home states! It was not only a rout of a presidential race; it almost became comical.

So what are the nearly 20 states that Obama won?

Just to satisfy your curiosity, Romney took home many more states than Obama, but those states yielded low numbers of electoral colleges each, save for Texas and North Carolina. Here are the states Romney won: North Carolina, Idaho, Montana, Arizona, Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Texas, Wyoming, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, Arkansas, Kentucky, Indiana, West Virginia, South Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah, Missouri and Georgia, CNN projected.


Click here to learn the states Obama won in the 2012 presidential election:


Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19