Drake breaks own record with most concurrent Billboard entries


Recently, there’s been heavy debate as to whether it’s too early to consider Drake for legendary status in hip-hop history. No matter what side of the coin you fall on, there’s no denying that the Toronto rapper is doing things that have never been done before.

The latest triumph for the “Energy” rapper is having every single song on his latest mixtape turned album, If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late, land on the Billboard Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Song chart. Of Drake’s current 21 placements on the chart, 17 are from his latest release with the other four being guest appearances on songs by Nicki Minaj (“Only” & “Truffle Butter”), Big Sean (“Blessings”) and ILoveMakonnen (“Tuesday”). This feat breaks his own record of 14 concurrent charting songs which he matched on last week’s chart when 10 of IYRTITL’s tracks placed in its debut week, only to have the remaining seven tracks from the album land on the chart this week.

In addition to the Billboard record, Drizzy also broke a record with over 23 million streams on Spotify with the first four days of the album’s release to break his own record when his previous album, Nothing Was the Same, was streamed over 15 million times.

4. “Only” – Nicki Minaj featuring Drake, Lil Wayne & Chris Brown
5. “Truffle Butter” – Nicki Minaj featuring Drake & Lil Wayne
9.  “Energy”
16. “Tuesday” – ILoveMakonnen featuring Drake
17. “Legend”
19. “10 Bands”
22. “Blessings” – Big Sean featuring Drake
23. “Know Yourself”
26. “No Tellin’”
27. “Preach” featuring PartyNextDoor
28. “6 God”
29. “Used To” featuring Lil Wayne
32. “Now & Forever”
34. “6 Man”
38. “Jungle”
39. “Star67″
40. “Madonna”
42. “Company” featuring Travis Scott”
43. “Wednesday Night Interlude” featuring PartyNextDo
45. “6PM In New York”
49. “You & The 6″

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

What's new

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x