Rolling Out

9th annual Black Music Honors set to celebrate icons around the world

The honors recently added additional performers for the night

The 9th annual Black Music Honors will take place on May 18 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta. The show will celebrate the achievements and contributions of Black music icons around the world.

Singer and actress LeToya Luckett and actor DeRay Davis will host the ceremony, which will honor Johnny Gill, Patrice Rushen, Bootsy Collins, and Hezekiah Walker.

The ceremony recently announced that additional performers for the night include Ceelo Green, Total, 702, MC Lyte, Marsha Ambrosius, Chrisette Michele, Next, Mr. Talkbox, J. Brown, After 7, Jekalyn Carr, and Mali Music.

Previously announced performers included Ruben Studdard, Kim Burrell, BLK ODYSSY, Donald Lawrence, Kevin Lemons & Higher Calling, Ricky Dillard, MonoNeon, Shanice, The Chi (Carl Thomas, Dave Hollister, and Syleena Johnson), and Tone Stith with a special appearance by David and Tamela Mann.

The special will premiere on the Stellar Network on June 1 at 8 p.m. EST and will also air on Bounce TV on June 19 at 9 p.m. EST.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Join our Newsletter

Sign up for Rolling Out news straight to your inbox.

Read more about:
Also read
Rolling Out