Rolling Out

Cardi B leads the list of nominees for this awards show

Cardi B leads the list of nominees for this awards show
Cardi B (Photo credit: Splash News)

Cardi B has had a great 2018 musically with the release of her debut album Invasion of Privacy. All of her hard work is paying off as she is being recognized by the music community.

The “Bodak Yellow” hitmaker leads the nominees for the 2019 iHeartRadio Music Awards with 14. Cardi will compete for the Female Artist of the Year award alongside Ariana Grande, Camila Cabello, Dua Lipa and Halsey. She is also in the running for a number of other awards, landing three nods in the Best Music Video category thanks to “Girls Like You,” her collaboration with Maroon 5, and her two offerings with J. Balvin and Bad Bunny, “I Like It” and “One Kiss.”

Drake has earned eight nominations, including Male Artist of the Year alongside Ed Sheeran, Kendrick Lamar, Post Malone and Shawn Mendes, while his “God’s Plan” is shortlisted for Song of the Year but faces competition from “Girls Like You,” Sheeran’s “Perfect,” Malone’s “Better Now” and “Zeen,” Maren Morris and Grey’s collaboration “The Middle.”

Up for Best Duo/Group of the Year will be 5 Seconds of Summer, Imagine Dragons, Maroon 5, Panic! At The Disco, and twenty-one pilots.

Elsewhere, four former members of Fifth Harmony — Ally Brooke, Normani, Dinah Jane and Lauren Jauregui — will go head-to-head in the Best Solo Breakout category, with Tiffany Young completing the shortlist.

John Sykes, president of iHeartMedia Entertainment Enterprises, said of the nominations: “It’s no secret why this year’s iHeartRadio Music Awards nominees are a Who’s Who of music.

“These are the artists and the songs iHeartRadio listeners couldn’t get enough of this past year. It’s going to be an unforgettable show.”

iHeartRadio listeners are able to vote for the winners in a number of categories, including Best Music Video, Best Fan Army presented by Taco Bell, Best Lyrics, and Best Cover Song.

From now until March 7, 2019, fans can vote on Twitter using the appropriate category and nominee hashtags or by visiting

The ceremony will broadcast live from Los Angeles’ Microsoft Theatre on Fox on March 14.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join our Newsletter

Sign up for Rolling Out news straight to your inbox.

Read more about:
Also read
Rolling Out