Wanda Sykes, Cedric the Entertainer and Martin Lawrence slay at Trumpet Awards

Wanda Sykes, Cedric the Entertainer and Martin Lawrence slay at Trumpet Awards
Wanda Sykes (Photo credit: Shutterstock.com/ S_Bukley)

This year’s Trumpet Awards promises to be incredibly funny and highly entertaining with so much comedic talent taking center stage.

Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress and writer Wanda Sykes is set to host the 28th Annual Trumpet Awards that will be held at Dolby Theatre in Hollywood.

While we are looking forward to the exciting and inspirational night celebrating African American achievements and contributions, we are also expecting some featured fun with some of the industry’s most beloved artists.

Martin Lawrence, Cedric the Entertainer, Marsai Martin, Ambassador Andrew Young, Hydeia Broadbent and Phylicia Fant among others have been named among this year’s honorees.

Lawrence, the iconic comedian and actor, will be presented with the Luminary Award, which honors an individual who has risen to the top of their field and has illuminated and inspired others along the way.

Cedric the Entertainer, one of the “Original Kings of Comedy” with a career spanning 30 years, will be honored with the Excellence in Entertainment Award.

Martin, 15, who stars on the hit ABC series “Black-ish, will receive the Rising Star Award presented by McDonald’s.

Young, the civil rights icon and former ambassador the United Nations, will receive the Xernona Clayton Award of Distinction, which recognizes individuals who have succeeded against immense odds and heralded change and prosperity to enhance and enrich the world.

The Community Activist Award, which recognizes an individual who dedicates their time and energy to raising awareness of an important cause, will be presented to HIV/AIDS activist and public speaker Hydeia Broadbent.

The Corporate Executive of the Year Awardrecognizing someone who leads companies to new heights while creating opportunities for others to succeed, will be presented to music industry and entertainment dynamo Phylicia Fant.

Among the artists scheduled to appear, perform or present are Anthony Anderson, Niecy Nash, Steve Harvey, Vanessa Bell Calloway, George Lopez, Mike Epps, Faith Evans, NAS, Elle Varner, Rapsody, BJ the Chicago Kid, Le’Andria Johnson and more.

The Bounce Trumpet Awards was founded in 1992 by Xernona Clayton to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of African Americans and those who have succeeded against great odds and inspired success in others.

The award show will premiere on Bounce on Sunday, Jan. 12, 2020, at 9 p.m. (ET).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Read more about:

Also read

Watch this video

What's new

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x